Feature Overview: Pipelines
A Pipeline is used to manage a workflow or process that has multiple activities at any given time. Pipelines can help track the progress of your Sales, Hiring, Fundraising, Bug Tracking, or Deal Flows from start to finish.
These are the Three Mail Elements to a pipeline:
A Pipeline is setup like a simple spreadsheet. Each horizontal row in this spreadsheet is a Box - for a Sales Pipeline this means that each row would be a deal.
A Pipeline also includes vertical Columns to specify what data will be stored on each box. Read more information on customizing your Pipeline's Stages and Columns here.
We use Stages to define the Box's linear progress through the Pipeline. For example, a Sales Pipeline may flow from the Lead Stage > Demo Product Stage > Negotiate Deal Stage > Closed Won Stage.
After entering your Pipeline Spreadsheet view, you will first notice your Pipeline name, along with a number of Pipeline navigation tools, and a total number.
The quick navigation arrow on in the top left will bring you directly back to your Inbox, while the arrow in a circle will refresh the Pipeline Spreadsheet for updates so you won't have to refresh you entire browser.
The total number is a quick way to get a summary of number of boxes in your pipeline, or count, average, or sum of one of the columns in your pipeline (like Deal Size). You can change this by just clicking on it, and a list of options based on your columns will come up.
You can create a new Box with the "+" button in the toolbar. Once you have added a few Boxes to your Pipeline, you can use the Saved View Editor to re-order these Boxes based on specific parameters. Find 'all Boxes assigned to you' or 'all Boxes created this month', or both!
As you begin moving your Boxes across your Stages, the Pipeline Report button leads to the Reports dashboard for Pipeline analytics and data insights.
Pipelines can also be shared with your colleagues using the blue Pipeline Sharing Settings button allowing many users to collaborate on projects or processes. When a Pipeline is shared with a Team, all the data in the Pipeline is accessible to everyone that's shared on the Pipeline including files and emails.
The More dropdown will reveal a menu of additional options to:
BOX PIPELINE TOOLBAR
Once you select at least one box in your pipeline using the checkbox on the left side, you'll notice that the Pipeline Toolbar options change into this:
- Deleting Boxes (note that this cannot be undone once you delete them, so be careful with what you are deleting)
- Change the Stage of those checked Boxes
- Export checked Boxes to Google Sheets
To bring back the regular pipeline toolbar, just de-select the boxes in question, or hit the x on the blue boxes selected icon.